I’ve Missed You

Oh blog, how I’ve missed you.  I have missed writing my thoughts, processing out loud (in a way).  I took time for plenty of reasons.  It wasn’t planned or purposeful.  But I was discouraged and so I petered out and gave up.  I just looked and I actually posted up until November (see: petering out).  But that post was about August.  So there’s that.

But now, I’ve got space, I’ve got perspective and I’ve got a new job! A job that my iPhone tells me is only 11 minutes away from my house but I make it in less.  So I’m starting to become myself again.  I’ve got time on my hands!  And I’ve got things to say!  We’ve been doing fun things I want to remember!  So there.  Exclamation points ended.

Get ready for out of season holiday recaps.  And weddings from September.  Birthdays. So on and so forth.

So about this new job of mine.  I started in November.  I am the Event Manager at a small technology firm in the town next door.  They didn’t have an Event Manager before but decided to give it a go when I came through the door.  They are hoping to grow by leaps and bounds over the next few years, so they are building the “back of house” or the people who make and create policies to support growth.  And you know, the people who go out and foster and sell the business.  So I fall somewhere in that realm.  And we are hiring developers/computer coders! If anyone is interested.

It’s a definite shift for me.  At my three previous jobs I was always part of the life blood of the company.  In other words, my work was billable.  There were clients who hired us for my particular set of skills.  Not so anymore.  I’m relegated to the odd balls like the accountants and sales positions of my old companies.  I use the term odd balls lovingly and with much empathy.  To those sweet, young coders – I am quite the odd ball.  They don’t really know what to make of me.  I don’t have any sort of “mentor” or teacher here which is a real first and a real shame, if I’m honest.  I’m trying to figure things out and define my role.  I get lonely and frustrated.  But then I leave and am home 10 minutes later and it all seems to be worth it.

The main business here is computers and the cloud.  It’s complex, impressive and difficult for me to explain.  Every project is different, so its a bit of a moving target.  There is a veritable genius running the ship and that is cool to watch.  So when I say technology and computers, you can imagine that there are plenty of young computer coders and computer science grads to be found. There is much love for Harry Potter (count me in), Dr. Who (who?) and video games (oh, most definitely not).  My first week on the job I got pulled into a conversation about Harry Potter.  Which led to discussing other epic fantasy and sci-fi series.  For the record, I did not start or steer this conversation.  When they found out I had seen Star Wars (thanks, Dad!) and had also not only watched Game of Thrones but read all the books one sweet guy asked me in all seriousness “So are you a real person or are you a nerd?”

I honestly didn’t know how to answer?  “Nerd” seemed like the quickest way to be accepted, but I’ve gotta say, I hope I’m a “real” person!  Needless to say, day-to-day life is looking pretty different around here.  It’s kindof funny that Scott and I both made a job change and are each at small(ish) technology companies.  We are both no longer part of the main business at our firms (Accounting for him, Event Management for me).  It’s been an amazing move for Scott.  I’m at my 60 day mark so I’ll withhold judgment but the commute does speak for itself.

So glad to be back!

2 thoughts on “I’ve Missed You

  1. So glad you are back! I love the updates :). Congratulations on the new job (I can definitely relate to some of your experiences so far)! Oh, and that real person/nerd question is hilarious. Because they’re mutually exclusive?? At least questions like that keep things interesting! 😉

  2. Thank you, dear friend! Yes, life is not boring at this job, that is for sure. I bet you had very similar experiences with your job in C-ville. Can’t wait til you are closer to us up here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

