Pretty Little End Tables

On Friday, I mentioned that I finally used Annie Sloan chalk paint to redo two little end tables for Scott and I to use in our bedroom.  I snapped a few quick pics of the finished product here. I am pretty happy with how they turned out.  Here you go!

The first is on my side of the bed, cause she’s pretty.

photo 1-9 As a reminder, here is the before.

photo 3-5Hello, gorgeous.

photo 2-10I like all the girly curves and lines.photo 2-9 I decided to try distressing the tables.  I figured, I had nothing to lose.  I was always to scared to try it on other pieces I’ve done.  I actually like it.  And there were plenty of edges and cut outs that lend themselves quite well to distressing.  I just used a sanding block before the waxing step required by Annie Sloan products.photo 4-6

And here is Scott’s table.  There was weird lighting in the room.  It’s the same color as the other one, not pink, I promise.

photo 3-8

Before:

photo 5-4

photo 5-6Overall, I think chalk paint is fun. It hasn’t changed my life or my mind and I’m not in a hurry to purchase another {expensive} quart for my next project.  It is thick and does cover very well.  It does show brush strokes, but because of the consistency, I feel like it just adds to the rustic charm.  And I thought that the waxing step was fun.  It made me feel like I was a legitimate furniture re-finisher.

In my opinion, the benefit to paint lines such as Annie Sloan (or Serena and Lily or Milk Paint, etc.) is the limited number of color choices.  Someone else, with a good eye for design, has already curated the thousands of paint colors into just a few of their top favorites.  And then they name them something fancy and you have a much easier decision to make.  I hate standing and staring at the wall of paint chips at Home Depot.  Because as much as I love that Turquoise over there, it would make a great ring but would be garish on my walls.

That is probably why when Pottery Barn releases a line of paint, everyone jumps on board.  I was talking to the guys at Benjamin Moore and they told me that whenever Pottery Barn releases their paint, they are just Benjamin Moore colors.  But Pottery Barn has taken much of the guesswork and paralyzing amount of choices and narrowed them down for you.  And they weeded out the costume jewelry colors and only left the colors that look good on walls!  But I digress.    I hope you like our new bedside tables!

Leave a Reply

