Our Duke Graduated

One of our crazy, fun, important weekends in May was spent celebrating my little’s sister’s graduation from JMU (James Madison University, aka the Dukes).

IMG_5791

IMG_5794
There were two ceremonies, one for the whole school and then one for her individual college.  It was fun to see the unique personality of the school where she spent the past 4 years.  I could see that she definitely embraced the spirit and pride of JMU and I can see why she will miss it when she moves on.
IMG_5779My absolute favorite part about JMU, besides Megan, is the streamer throw.  It’s typically reserved for celebrating touch downs at football games, but they also pull it out for graduation.  I had explicit instructions to capture this moment!IMG_5783 Meg had four aunts and uncles travel down for the festivities.  Bonus: I got to spend time with family and not be the guest of honor!

IMG_3289

There was another special visitor.  And I’m not talking about that crazy dog in the background.  That is a Duke Dog, by the way.  Any man who will wear purple for you is a keeper!

IMG_0940

On day two of the graduation festivities, I finally had my beloved with me. He made it down a day late due to work.  Good thing he showed up, because he managed to capture the essence of Megan’s and my sisterly relationship in a photo montage.IMG_5827

God bless little sisters.Sisters

Success!IMG_5828

The family.  We had so much fun together at our little mountain house getaway.  And we loved celebrating our little Megan.  She will always be little to me.IMG_5834

We love you, Meggie.  You are going to do such a fabulous job in the real world with your own brand of quirkiness, your big heart and your true kindness.  Now I just wish you were setting your sights on somewhere a little closer to me. I can’t imagine going through life without you popping in all the time. I love you!IMG_0936

One thought on “Our Duke Graduated

  1. Pingback: Duty, Honor, Country | The Fitzgeralds

Leave a Reply

