We’re Moving to Jersey, Baby!

So.  We bought a house!  In New Jersey.

After looking on and off for about ten months we finally found it.  The ONE.  OUR house.  Our starter house?  Our forever home?  We don’t know yet.  But we’re excited to find out!

We’ll be moving on … get this … Saturday.  Holy moly.  This whole house hunting thing has been a bit of a roller coaster.  We’ve been in bidding wars only to lose out after 2 or 3 rounds;  we’ve had bids accepted, only to lose the house after telling our families.  So I’ve held off on announcing this little piece of news for well over a month because I had a hard time believing it was actually going to happen.   I was sure the other shoe was going to drop.  But it’s here!

So yes.  We are moving to a teeny, little town in Jersey just a few miles from where Scott was born and raised.  Forget all of the negative things you ever heard about New Jersey – because you won’t find any of those cliches in our little town.  It’s super close to the beach (the shore, if you will).  It is quaint and charming and we already have some friends and family close by, which is priceless.

New Jersey

Unfortunately, life (read: work) doesn’t slow down for major life events.  So we spent the better part of Sunday packing up as much as we possibly could.  And now our cozy, little apartment looks like this.

IMG_6245

IMG_6249

IMG_6250

Transition is so tough.  And let me tell you, I am going to MISS living in New York.  There’s no better place in the world.  And I will mourn this apartment, our first home as husband and wife.  But as I have to keep reminding Scott, those feelings have NOTHING to do with my excitement about this new house and the new phase of life.  I cannot wait to *actually* decorate and renovate this house!  I’ve always held back in all of my past apartments.  I never felt like they were mine.

So here are the quick stats.  And there will be plenty more details in the next few weeks.

It has four bedrooms and two full bathrooms.  The kitchen is huge!  There is a little breakfast nook that I cannot wait to make cuter and comfier.  There is a white brick fireplace.  Most of the house is hardwood flooring.  There is plenty of natural light thanks to skylights.  The front yard is just completely overgrown with plants.  It doesn’t appear there is any sort of order or reason to it.  That will be a challenge, because I never really thought I’d want to do much gardening.

Once the house is officially ours I’ll post plenty of pictures!  We are so excited and will definitely be sharing all of the details here.  I think a new blog name may be in order!  Here’s to moving week!

3 thoughts on “We’re Moving to Jersey, Baby!

  1. Mark and I are sooooooo excited! And just remember when you need dinner, you know where we are on the weekends! Welcome to New Jersey!

Leave a Reply

