Fitzgerald Anniversary

Last month we had some Fitzgeralds in the city!  My in-laws both have milestone birthdays and are celebrating their 35th wedding anniversary in 2013.  So we had to celebrate!

(Almost) everyone came to the city.  Scott’s brother and sister-in-law left their two little ones at home and Jess and Dan couldn’t make it since they just had the newest member of the family.  We missed them all!

We started by having everyone over to our apartment to grill out and spend low-key time together.
IMG_5448

It was {so} fun for me to host a small family gathering.  I cannot wait until we have a larger home and can host whole family get-togethers.  I basically registered for our wedding while dreaming of a 14 person Thanksgiving meal.IMG_5450

So it was a treat for me to host!  IMG_5451

Sisters-in-law!  We had the best time.
IMG_5452We had gotten the Fitzgerald’s a hotel room in the city so they didn’t have to travel home to  New Jersey for the night.  They had a fun view which we got to see when we stopped by to sweep them off to dinner.

IMG_5456

IMG_5458

We avoided the typical Times Square pre-theater restaurants and went to The Smith in midtown. IMG_5459

We love The Smith.  Great cocktail options and DE-LICIOUS food.
FitzFamily

I know Mark and Steph missed their little ones, but I really hope they enjoyed their time in the city.  We absolutely loved getting to share our home with them.IMG_5471

Doesn’t my husband look so handsome with a beard!?  It’s gone now, but he said it’d come back when the weather gets cold again.  I fully approve.IMG_5470

Oh my word. Y’all.  The food.  Deep fried green beans – piping hot, crisp in the middle and just perfect dipped in ranch.  Get them. You won’t be disappointed.IMG_5474

Cheers!IMG_5475

The sign of a good sister-in-law?  Splitting the two best entrees on the menu because you can’t decide.  Pot of mussels (we drank the broth it was so good) and paella.IMG_5476

GirlsEatingAfter dinner it was onto the show!  We chose Rock of Ages for the Fitzgeralds.  I knew it would be a crowd pleaser for the men and women alike.  I mean, when my father-in-law was asked what type of music he wanted played at his retirement party, he replied,

“Anything by Springsteen or Jovi.”

Scott and I were just dating at the time.  I remember thinking I wouldn’t mind hanging out with this family a bit more. 🙂

IMG_5483

Lets just say that Rock of Ages isn’t the typical broadway experience. But in the best possible way.  We laughed and danced in our seats through the whole show.  I literally got excited for every song.  IMG_5485

The show let out right across the street from the theater where Tom Hanks is currently performing.  There was a huge crowd gathered and I remembered that some of my friends had seen the play and been able to get Tom’s autograph after the show.  He must be coming out right here!  Steph and I got SO excited.  We joined the crowd and waited.  And waited.  I was ready to call it quits (had to keep up my cool New Yorker facade, right!?) and we were walking back to the Fitzgeralds who were waiting for us with amused patience.  IMG_5487

And then we heard it.  The crowd suddenly started screaming and yelling and Stephanie grabbed my hand and we raced back to get as close as we could.  There was TOM HANKS in all of his mustached glory!  He shook hands and signed autographs for a lucky few.  And the rest of us got to say that we “saw Tom Hanks in real life!”IMG_5490

I can’t imagine what it would be like to cause that sort of fuss every night leaving work.  We left two happy girls.

IMG_5493As great as Mr. Hanks is, I have to say I had more fun with these folks.  It was a GREAT weekend.

IMG_5499

IMG_5471

One thought on “Fitzgerald Anniversary

Leave a Reply

