All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth

Or at least, two WHOLE front teeth. Let me rewind. As a 7 year old, I had a rather traumatic bike accident, which involved me flying over the handle bars, landing on my face (and scraping it up something fierce in the process) and chipping my front tooth. Of course, it wasn’t a baby tooth, but an adult tooth.

After the scrapes and scabs that ran down the center of my face from my hair line to my chin had healed a bit, I went to the dentist to have my front tooth bonded. A year later, the bond came off in the cafeteria, much to my little self’s dismay. So Mom rolled up her sleeves and found the best dentist in the area and that time, the bonding lasted for 18ish years…until this past Saturday evening.

Sitting on the couch with Scott enjoying some relaxation and pad thai, I hit my front tooth with my fork and immediately…I knew. I broke out into a cold sweat, because this is one of the things I dread. With much anxiety and fear. I freaked out and ran to the bathroom. Poor Scott thought I was in major pain. Luckily I wasn’t. I was just have a spaz attack and looked like I belonged in West Virginia. I started crying and called my mom. Everything immediately seemed better and then I went out to explain to Scott that I had momentarily relapsed to a scared 7 year old and needed to be coddled, just a tad. We both calmed down at this point, I showed him my gap and he did the only thing a husband can do in these situations. Reaffirm that while yes, he thinks I am beautiful, it is not why he is with me and it makes no difference to him. Even though I would have denied it, that was exactly what I needed to hear.

It was quite humbling to have my facade of control stripped away. I am ashamed to admit that this made me realize how much I find some identity in my looks. I didn’t even leave the house until Monday for my dentist’s appointment to get the chip bonded again. Who am I!? I seriously need to work on that.

And then, because I hadn’t been to the dentist in waaay too many years, I had to have a deep cleaning, which involved eight (count them…EIGHT) shots. But I came out on the other side and have two WHOLE front teeth. Sigh.

In light of looking on the bright side of things and having a positive attitude – I’m very grateful that the chip didn’t happen in public and that I got an appointment as quickly as I did. And that I have such a sweet, wonderful husband that loves me despite my crazy and my flaws (physical and otherwise).

Happy Friday! Cheers to looking normal in time for a friends’s wedding!

One thought on “All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth

Leave a Reply

