Family Fun at Bear Pond

In the midst of our time in Maine, we were able to steal away for an afternoon to see some of my family who was vacationing near by.  Rather than going to the ocean, they actually go a little more rustic to a lake in the woods.

We got to see my godparents, Aunt Karen and Uncle Ralph.

My cousin Jennifer (who is the closest thing to a big sister that I have).

And her two adorable kiddos – Ben and Sophie.  Unfortunately, we missed their dad by a few hours.

I’ve noticed with some families that cousins can drift apart as people grow up, get married and have their own families.  And I’m so glad that hasn’t happened in ours.  We certainly don’t get to see each other as often as we’d like, as we are spread out a bit.  But we are there for each other and try to get together as often as possible.  Case in point: Jennifer and her family traveled to Rhode Island when Sophie was only two weeks old!  I absolutely love them for that.  My wedding wouldn’t have been the same without them.

Which is why I made it a point to get out to see them when our Maine vacations overlapped.  Hopefully we can spend a bit more time together next year!

Because these little ones grow up so fast!  I hate missing it.  I was obsessed with Sophie’s adorable clothes!  Look at her little flop!

Don’t even get me started on the sunglasses.

And have no fear, while I was in small flip flop and ruffle heaven, Ben wasn’t forgotten.  While Jen and I talked each other’s ears off in the shallows with Sophie, Ben and Scott were having a grand time.

Look at that smile!

After awhile, all we heard was laughing and “Again!”.

Sophie with her grandma.

Hearing my Aunt Karen’s voice greeting us when we arrived brought me right back to the many summer vacations of my childhood.  We would road trip to their house in Indiana for a week of fresh corn on the cob, pinochle (that’s a card game) and lake activities.

We had such a relaxing time, drinking margaritas and catching up.

Scott and I had a chance to kayak.

Off we go!

Scott and Ben also had some adventures in fishing.  Neither of them had much experience with live worms, so Jen had to show them how it was done.  But they looked adorable out there.

His great grandpa Hoepp would be proud.

We ended our time together with a lobster feast – a big thank you to Uncle Ralph for traveling to get it for us!

I love this shot.  It’s so typical Maine.  Lobster, a glass of wine, Off bug spray, and a lake in the background.

The lobster was delicious.

And our time together was even better.  It was so great to see them!  I hope it’s not next year before we see them again.

Leave a Reply

