What Would Robert E. Lee Do?

“What would Robert E. Lee do?”  And so began the rehearsal of my best friend’s wedding, with those wise words spoken by the priest.  A pretty good omen if you ask me.

But lets back up.  Scott and I t raveled by trains, subways and automobiles to Virginia last Thursday night.  It was worth the late night trip, to be in Virginia for all of the festivities that started Friday morning, which included golfing for Scott and my dad and mani/pedis and TONY’S for us girls.  It was such sweet time for both of us to get to be a part of the family and close-friend time that day.  We had that much more fun at the wedding, because we felt like we were with our own family and friends by that point!

I know I live in New York, but I haven’t found anything that compares to the focaccia and greek salad at Tony’s.  Sorry, NYC.

That afternoon, it was time for some rehearsin’.

The Maid and Matron of Honor.  (Scott was on camera duty all weekend.)

The fully-assembled wedding party.  Look at all of those left over Easter flowers!  Quite the lucky coincidence.

Right about then, I’m sure someone goofed off or asked a silly question.  To which the priest replied, “Well, I would just ask yourself, ‘What would Robert E. Lee do?’.”  Which was basically awesome (Lauren’s maiden name is Lee and why, yes, she is related to the General).  So that became my quote of the weekend.

The rehearsal dinner was at Manassas’ finest restaurant, Carmello’s, which serves delicious Portuguese-Italian style food.  It was just family and bridal party, so it was nice and intimate.

I’ve decided my camera has a hard time with indoor shots.  So forgive the orange-y tone in some photos.

Cheers!

The Father of the Groom gave a lovely, heartfelt speech welcoming Lauren into the family.  It was clear that she is very loved and appreciated by the McCarthy family and that they couldn’t be happier she is joining the family.  I mean look at the genuine happiness on everyone’s face!

WEDDING DAY!  I’ll spare you the in-process shots of hair and make up and just show you the finished product.  Isn’t she gorgeous?  Everything was perfection – her dress, her hair, her make up, the flowers…I just wish I could share the professional photos, which do so much more justice than mine!

Keeping to the theme of the weekend, (What would Robert E. Lee do?)  there was a bit of Jim Beam in the limo ride to the church.

Look at the love (and fun) on those faces.  It’s no wonder that Jessie and I were weepy messes for most of the weekend.  The limo ride is when everything sunk in for me.  I think it’s because it was the first time we were all sitting still.  I was watching Lauren and her dad and had this moment in which I realized, “Lauren is in a wedding gown.  I am wearing a bridesmaid dress and we are riding in a limo to the church.  Right now.  These are the few remaining moments of her pre-married life.”  The full weight of the moment settled on me and I lost it.  So I immediately shared my feelings with Jessie, so she could lose it too.  I’m a good friend, yes?

Here I am, walking down the aisle.  I wanted you to see the full effect of the ensemble.  Navy dresses with cream, green and light blue flowers=picture perfect.

I would also like to point out how striking the tan suits with the navy ties were.  The boys looked so handsome!  And look at the hubby go with all of the moments he captured for me!

Let me tell you – that is one heavy bridal bouquet!

Time to party!  Unfortunately, all of the entrance shots were blurry.  Lauren’s brother and Jessie were the only ones that sort of came out.  Which works for me, since it was a pretty spectacular entrance, what with the VT flag and all.

My entrance involved a spin and a curtsy/bow.  Simple, yet well-received, I’d say. 🙂

Watching the Bride and Groom’s first dance.

Lauren and her dad danced to Trace Adkin’s, “Just Fishin.”

Half way through the song, this happened…Out came a baseball hat, complete with a Trace Adkin’s ponytail attached.

Never have the  words of Truvy (aka Dolly Parton) from Steel Magnolias been more true: “Laughter through tears is my favorite emotion.”

There my husband goes again – getting those detail shots for me 🙂

Cutting of the pie.  Please note the “cuppies” – those are not cup cakes!  There was banana cream, apple, chocolate, pecan, and more than I can remember right now.

Family!  We were all there and don’t we look nice?  Mom was representing my wedding colors- she wore the grey dress from my rehearsal dinner, plenty of sparkle on her ears, and topped it off with one of my hot pink wedding pashminas!  Loved it.

My sisters.

Party time!

Dancing and singing along to Hank Williams Jr.’s “Family Tradition.”  Lauren called this her family’s quest to show how red neck they were.  I don’t judge, since I was right there with them.  I just call it a good time.

We then did the Hokie Pokie and had a Virginia Tech family photo. ❤

And on that note, we come to the end of the pictures from the night.  There are so many moments we couldn’t capture, but the day was full of love, family, Virginia Tech, and celebration.  I think everyone  had a great time and I couldn’t be happier for Lauren and Hugh.  Go Hokies!

3 thoughts on “What Would Robert E. Lee Do?

  1. Pingback: Family, Old Friends, Greek Salad… « The Fitzgeralds

  2. Pingback: The Big One Zero Zero « The Fitzgeralds

Leave a Reply

