Good Friends, Good Art, Good Pizza!

This past weekend, Scott and I had some visitors.  My good friend, bridesmaid, and France-travel-buddy, Maria, and her boyfriend Josh came for the weekend!

There we are.

We had a wonderful time with them.  On Friday night we stayed around our neighborhood and gave them a proper New York City welcome.  Beer and pizza!

Saturday started with a delicious brunch at a French restaurant in the Upper East Side – Cafe D’Alsace.  We’d never been before and its was amazingly delicious and I WILL be going back.  If you go , you should get the crepes.  I love the New York tradition of brunch.

Then we headed to The Metropolitan Museum of Art, which is within walking distance of our apartment.  None of us had been before and Scott and I jumped at the chance to do something touristy.  We never seem to go to museums or see the sights on our own.  Maybe because Scott is gone for work all the time and it’s been so cold!

Our first stop was the Arms and Armor Exhibit for the boys.  Can you imagine fighting in those helmets?  I’d spend more time balancing it, I think.

All of the weapons got to be a bit much for me.  Until Maria found the one thing that was right up my alley.

Yes, that is a sword with a BOW on the hilt.  It’s French, of course.  So I ended that exhibit on a high note.

I’ve decided I really like sculptures.  Maybe it was just a welcome change from suits of armor.  This one was my favorite.  It has so much movement and grace.

There was also an Egyptian exhibit with entire structures that didn’t even come close to filling the room.  Right about then, I realized just how large The Met is and that there was no way we’d see everything in one day.

For our last stop, we finally found some paintings. I don’t remember who painted this, but it looked like something out of a fairytale to me.

Monet.

Degas.

By this point, we were all a little tired and a lot hungry.  We took a quick walk into Central Park before making our way to Shake Shack for some much needed delicious, cheesy sustenance.

Maria and Josh at the reservoir in Central Park.

I didn’t get a picture of our burgers at Shake Shack because I’m pretty sure my blood sugar had reached an all-time low.  Who knew appreciating fine art was so tiring?  We took a group nap, caffeinated and then made our way to dinner.  More on that tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

