Spotlight on St. Jude

Last night I was able to attend the first ever Spotlight on St. Jude – Broadway’s Tribute to the Kids.  My new friend and running buddy works for St. Jude and was kind enough to invite me to come!  Unfortunately no one was able to come with me, but I wasn’t about to miss it, so I decided to go on my own.

The event was held at the New World Stages and I was able to just walk over after work.

When I arrived there was a red carpet, a step-and-repeat banner and everything.  I successfully avoided that whole shebang!

I grabbed a few hors d’oeuvres and a glass of wine and then found my name among the stars 😉

I had a great view and let me tell you, the show did not disappoint.  It was funny, full of talent and inspirational.    It was mostly musical performances – sometimes by a Broadway star, sometimes by the cast of a currently running show.

One of my favorite performances was by the cast of Million Dollar Quartet.  The show is based on the recording session when Elvis Presley, Jerry Lee Lewis, Johnny Cash and Carl Perkins came together.  They opened the show with “Peace in the Valley,” heavily featuring Elvis, of course.  Love.

The only non-musical performance was by Mario Cantone and Carol Kane.  They perform in a show called Celebrity Autobiography, “where superstar autobiographies are acted out onstage.”  They literally had real autobiographies (like, the hard back books) on stage with them.   When they were introducing the act they said they are often asked if what they read is real and the answer is that “you can’t make this stuff up!”

They read the passage as if they are the celebrity who wrote it.  Mario was Lauren Bacall and Carol was Carol Channing.  They did a sort of “mash up” – taking turns reading their passages, which mirrored each other.  They were hi-larious!  I’d heard about the show before and now it’s on my must-see list.

There was a surprise guest – a St. Jude patient that had been featured in both the program and a video shown near the end of the show.  She came onstage after the video and sang “Somewhere Over the Rainbow.” Her dad joined her onstage to say a few words after.  She got a standing ovation and it was wonderful to see in person what St. Jude is doing.

The finale was probably my favorite.  All of the performers, plus a few others, came onstage and sang a medley of Broadway songs.  Think “You Can’t Stop the Beat” from Hairspray and “Will I?” from Rent.  I was a happy little Broadway fan!

On my way out, I grabbed a cheesecake lollipop from the dessert reception (it was delicious).  Ok, I also grabbed a chocolate peanut butter mini-cupcake as well.  All in all, it was a wonderful night for St. Jude.

Then, I thought I was being so good and decided to take the Subway home instead of a cab.  It would be good for the budget right?  Well, I proceeded to get on the wrong train and ended up on the wrong side of the park.  I got off before I reached the Bronx, thank goodness.  Embarrassed, I ended up taking a cab the rest of the way home anyways.  So I paid for Subway fare AND a cab ride.  Just wonderful.

I’ve heard that people like to read my blog to see what city life is like – well, I’m keeping it real.  There are fabulous shows here in NYC.  But there’s also no good way to get across Central Park from the West Side to the East Side.  And it’s extremely embarrassing to tell your husband that you somehow confused the “C” and “E” line.  Oh well, I personally love taking cabs, so it all worked out in the end. 🙂

Leave a Reply

