Southern State of Mind

I’m currently loving Darius Rucker’s song, Southern State of Mind.  (Listen here)

The album came out in mid-October but I just heard it a few days ago.  I was listening to music at work (on my headphones, because I’m sure my country station wouldn’t be well-received at the office) and Southern State of Mind came on.  The first line made me smile because I can definitely relate.

I was up in New York City just the other week
You should’ve seen the waitress’ face when I ordered sweet tea

As I’ve said before, New York is definitely growing on me, but it’s such a different way of living than I’m used to.  When we were in Virginia over Christmas, I felt like I was back in the real world.  You know, where you can drive your own car, buildings and homes are spaced out, and there are trees and grass.

But don’t get me wrong, there is no limit to the number of restaurants available here.  You can try any cuisine under the sun; yes, even barbecue.  And I usually hate going to chain restaurants (just ask Scott, he used to hate choosing restaurants for us in Virginia).  So in a way, New York is my play ground since every restaurant is unique.  But dang it, I miss Chick-Fil-A!  Sometimes, you just want some comfort food that you know and love…and that comes with any dipping sauce of your choosing.

So if you are lucky enough to live near a Chick-Fil-A, count your blessings and think of me while drinking your sweet tea.

 

**Note**  Southern State of Mind is actually NOT a new song.  Scott pointed out that 2010 is now two years ago, not last year.   Oops.  It’s still new to me and I still love it!

5 thoughts on “Southern State of Mind

  1. Oh don’t even get me started about Chick-fil-A! Fingers crossed that in a few years, you can have all the CFA you want 🙂

    Did I mention how hysterical I thought prince was???? Please make that your Christmas cars next year! Please.

  2. Pingback: Northern Tea « The Fitzgeralds

Leave a Reply

