Married Carrie Bradshaw?

On my birthday last week, I received a sweet, blush-inducing compliment.

“You’re like our married Carrie Bradshaw!”

Personally, I always thought I was more of a Charlotte 😉

Haha, it put a smile on my face.  But inside I said…no way.  I am really starting to love New York and it’s hard to imagine living anywhere that doesn’t offer a plethora of Broadway shows…all the time.  But I would never begin to describe my life as glamorous or fabulous!

So I had to laugh at the turn of events the rest of my day took – it looks pretty darn good on paper.  First, I had lunch in Times Square at a restaurant right in the middle of at least four musicals.  Rumor has it that you can often find actors, writers and Broadway hopefuls there after the shows.  I might need to check that out.  We spent a good amount of time talking about Broadway – the shows we’ve seen, need to see, and should absolutely stay away from.  I loved it.  And I was in the presence of people who are veterans of both New York City as well as the stage, so you know they had priceless insights.  I was then forced to have a chocolate soufflé cake and they sang me Happy Birthday.

Later that night, I went to dinner at the Armani Ristorante.  As in, Giorgio Armani.  As in, on the third floor of the Armani store.  Overlooking Fifth Avenue.  I didn’t even know that this restaurant existed.  When I walked in it was dimly lit, decorated in black and white and there were beautiful people drinking martinis and speaking Italian.  The whole place screamed, “I’m shi shi, I’m fabulous, and you should be too.”  It was honestly a bit intimidating.  But let me tell you, the food lived up to the standard the decor set.  It was fantastic.  I had a scallop appetizer, lobster pasta as my entree, and washed it all down with Prosecco.  I felt spoiled, it was all so delicious.  All in all, not a bad birthday dinner.

After dinner I had plans to meet up with two friends for a birthday drink.  They had sweetly offered to have me over since Scott wouldn’t be around.  As a treat, I took a cab back uptown.  We take the subway everywhere so I felt like a big deal leaving the Armani store and hailing a cab.  When I got to the apartment, I knocked on the door…aaaand no one answered.  I knocked again…and started to pull out my phone, praying that I hadn’t misread the apartment number.  How mortifying if I had gone and knocked (twice) on the wrong door.  But then the door swung open and there was an apartment full of people waiting inside (and thankfully, it was the right apartment).

It was a surprise birthday party!  All of our friends were there (well almost – we missed you, Liz).  They even had Scott there in spirit via iPhone Face Time.  I was completely surprised and so incredibly touched.  All of the details were so thoughtful and I so appreciated everyone coming out on a rainy Wednesday night.  I am blessed to have such wonderful friends here, who stepped in and made me feel so loved on my birthday.

There was quite a spread, including cupcakes, cookies, cheese, candy and of course, wine!

We caught up with each other, they sang me happy birthday, and we had wine and treats.  It was a perfect ending to my birthday.  So a HUGE thank you to Leslie and Stu for hosting and for everyone that came out.  You absolutely made my day.

So, in my opinion, I had a pretty fabulous day.  And yes, I let myself feel just a little Carrie-esque as I hailed my cab.  Onto the next adventure!

One thought on “Married Carrie Bradshaw?

  1. Pingback: Just when you think you’re fancy… « The Fitzgeralds

Leave a Reply

