Visiting Memphis…on Broadway

I don’t think it’s any secret that I’m a big fan of Broadway – anything involving musicals, plays, dancing, singing, acting and I am in. So this year, Scott agreed to go wait in line at the discount ticket booth, TKTS, on Saturday morning and treat me to dinner and the theater as my birthday gift. He better, since he used going to more broadway plays as part of his sales pitch to get me up here. 😉 The Virginia print was an added surprise and cherry on top!

We went to the TKTS counter down at the South Street Seaport. We decided to go there, rather than the booth in Times Square because it opens earlier in the day. We wanted to have our plans nailed down as much in advance as we could. We arrived right when it opened and there was definitely a line, but it moved quickly. And there were a TON of shows available!

So I had my top three picks ready (Memphis, Anything Goes, and Godspell), as the tips online told me I should, but it wasn’t even necessary. We got seats in the 10th row of the orchestra section for Memphis – at half price! It was so easy. Also, it kind of looks like Scott is punching me through the head in the shadows of the picture, haha.

There was still a pretty significant line when we left, so I’m glad we got there a bit early.

Since it was such a beautiful day, we walked around the docks and had lunch at an outdoor cafe. There is a 4 mast ship docked from the early 1900s. I love the juxtaposition of something with such an antiquated and old world look against the modern lines of the city skyscrapers.

The Brooklyn Bridge.

The view across the river.

After lunch we went home and relaxed before getting dolled up and heading out for dinner in Hell’s Kitchen. We went to a restaurant called Nook – and it truly is no bigger than the size of a nook. When we were seated, the food was absolutely delicious. And then we were off to Memphis!

I absolutely LOVED it. The music was a wonderful mixture of Southern gospel, oldies, R&B, and of course, rock and roll. The gospel was by far my favorite part. It gave me goosebumps. And it was funny too. I know it was because Scott was laughing too and musicals aren’t exactly his thing.

As if we hadn’t had enough good luck, (I mean, half off tickets the day of a show? I know they do it every day at TKTS, but I still felt incredibly lucky) Adam Pascal was the male lead. As in Adam Pascal, from RENT. How I didn’t know that he was the lead is beyond me. But there he is.

Let me tell you, his character, Huey, is worlds away from Roger (his character in Rent). But I loved him in this too. One of my favorite parts of the night was the standing ovation the audience gave the cast. After the main characters had taken their final bow, the live band on stage kept on playing and the actors and audience all danced. Which makes me think that the audience was not made up of New Yorkers, but this girl from Virginia had a blast!

Thank you, Scott, for a wonderful birthday celebration!

One thought on “Visiting Memphis…on Broadway

  1. I saw Memphis this summer and loved it! And I’m so jealous you got to see Adam Pascal! I saw him in Aida like ten years ago. I’m clearly a broadway nerd too…

Leave a Reply

