The Most Exciting Adventure…That Wasn’t

So as some of you may know, the beautiful Elizabeth Taylors extensive jewel collection was recently at Christie’s in Rockefeller Plaza.  The jewels (and some couture clothing) were on display for a short while for the public to view, and recently, there was an online auction.

This is a big deal in my world.  Big jewelry, Elizabeth Taylor…enough said.  I mean, this is the woman who had TWO full sets of Louis Vuitton luggage, which all bore the same violet luggage tag, which simply read “Mine.”   A moment of silence for Ms. Taylor and her extreme fabulous-ness.

Ok.

So, I badly wanted to go see said jewels.  At first glance, Christie’s website reads that all viewings are free and open to the public.  Score!  I texted my new New York girlfriend and made plans immediately.  The morning of our trip, I decided to do a bit more digging, just to be sure.  Lucky, I did.

Sadly, there was a $30 charge to see Ms. Taylor’s jewels.  And even more sadly, that just isn’t in our budget at the moment.  I was crushed.

Luckily, we passed Christie’s this past weekend and I got to see their display windows all done up in honor of Elizabeth Taylor.  It was very cool.  And I did check out the online listing and her collection was absolutely staggering.  I heard that Bvlgari bought back the items which were originally purchased from them.  I like the full-circle quality of that.

Maybe my next fabulous New York outing will actually happen.  Here’s hoping!

One thought on “The Most Exciting Adventure…That Wasn’t

  1. Pingback: The Fitzgeralds

Leave a Reply

