Decorating for Christmas!!

I love Christmas.  I always have.  Decorating is probably the best part.  I think it’s in my nature to enjoy the preparation, decoration and organization of an event just as much as (or more than) the actual event.  It’s good that I’m an event planner, I suppose.  I mean, I used to organize the buttons in my mom’s sewing kit…for fun.  That’s embarrassing so, enough about that!

After the TV Saga and the Virginia Tech game on Saturday, Scott and I regrouped for dinner and then spent the evening decorating our new home for Christmas!

Scott was in charge of putting up the tree.

I was in charge of “floofing” and fluffing.

Prince oversaw the stringing of the lights.

This is the ornament we bought on our honeymoon.

And this is where I think Prince will spend the month of December.

The finished product!  Scott and I each brought a tree topper to the marriage.  We couldn’t agree on either (I don’t know why he doesn’t like my Tinker Bell sitting on top of a snowflake and his tinsel star didn’t have enough flair for me).  So I made this bow and I think it actually works really well!

Scott strung up lights in our backyard!  I love turning them on at night, even though we may be the only ones that can see them.  I think they frame the tree nicely.

A few other details around the house.  We only used ornaments and decorations that we already owned.  I would love to buy some more that coordinate in the future, but that will come in time.

A glittery cat door hanger.  I believe this was a gift, but I may have bought it myself.  I need to put a picture of my kitten in there!

We got this bowl as an engagement gift.  It says “…and they lived happily ever after.”

I even put some Christmas cheer in the bathroom. I usually keep my Lush bath bombs in there.

Our kitchen table centerpiece.

I definitely missed my Christmas traditions from home, particularly decorating trees with my mom.  So I decided to carry one of the traditions over and watch my favorite Christmas movie, “White Christmas,” with a bowl of popcorn before bed.  It was fun decorating our new home together. Here’s to our first Christmas as husband and wife!

Leave a Reply

